Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day!

We love bread around here! Especially on winter evenings with soup. I have to confess though….I like eating bread more than I like making it. Kneading dough Isn’t therapeutic to me…But baking it, and letting it warm up the kitchen with the heavenly smelling goodness?? That’s my favorite part! If you’re like me, and want a simplified version of bread, this recipe is for you! I have changed it up some since first discovering the recipe a couple years ago. I don’t use a pizza stone, because mine is covered in sticky baked on apple pie filling(don’t ask). I also skip the steaming water in the oven,
while baking. The first time I tried that, I used a glass pan.
I know, I know. I should’ve know better. The water hit that glass pan and shattered all over the place…in my oven…on the floor…and my beautiful loaf of bread. I called the Bearded Man in tears. He helped me get the mess all cleaned up. What would I do without him? I tried the steam method with an appropriate pan a couple times after that, but I never saw a huge difference. You will find though, that I do use some hot water while the dough rises. This makes such a huge difference in getting a nice rise! I have also changed up the ingredients a little. I buy yeast, flour and honey at Costco in bulk, which makes this recipe super cheap! Here’s my version of Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day!

image

You will need:
-1 1/2 Tablespoons yeast
-3 cups warms water
– a very large food storage container with lid

Add the yeast and warm water to your container(I use one of those huge Rubbermaid food storage containers from Wal-Mart). Stir together.

Now to your water/yeast mixture add:
-1 Tablespoon of Kosher Salt
-1 Tablespoon of honey.
-1/4 cup olive oil.
-a few pinches of ginger(you can’t taste this, ginger is a natural dough conditioner.)
-7 cups of flour

Mix all this together until combined. You don’t have to knead! Once combined cover with the lid, but DO NOT seal! Allow to rise for two hours, or until dough has “flattened out” on top, and looks bubbly.

At this point, put the dough in the fridge, and allow to get cold before using.

On baking day; line a standard pizza pan with parchment paper, and lightly spray. Sprinkle 1/3 of the dough with flour and pull off a grapefruit sized hunk. Sprinkle your hunk of dough with more flour and shape into a ball, tucking edges underneath the ball. Leave in a ball shape or form into a long loaf. Place on pan. Stick the pan in the oven,(make sure the oven isn’t on!) and place a pan of hot water in the oven to give the dough a nice warm environment. Allow to rise for 1-2 hours. The longer the rise, the better textured dough you’ll have.
Return the rest of the dough to the refrigerator for another day!

Once dough has risen, remove the water and dough from oven, and preheat to 450. Using kitchen scissors, cut several “X” shapes on top of the dough. Place in a preheated oven, and bake for 30
minutes, or until golden brown. Melt 2 tablespoons butter, and brush on top. Allow to cool for about a half an hour before cutting!

You can use the rest of your dough for up to 2 weeks! So easy, and great to have on hand! Sometimes I use this for pizza dough!

If you’re a visual learner, or would like to check out the steam method, watch Mandy’s video on her awesome blog! http://biblicalhomemaking.blogspot.com/2011/08/video-tutorial-how-to-make-artisan.html?m=1

Recipe is my variation of “Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a Day”.
Photo is my own.

💜If you enjoyed this recipe, feel free to share on Pinterest or Facebook!! 💜

Leave a comment